New to spearfishing

Put your spearfishing reports here and lets see some pics from underwater. Cool
Robb1821i
Fisher

New to spearfishing

Post by Robb1821i »

I'm just getting started with a pole spear and I was hoping someone could help me with some questions. I live in SW Miami. Besides the keys and key Biscayne are there any accessible spots without a boat? Is it safe to swim out boatless? (I know it's never truly safe to swim in any ocean) I've seen some bull sharks and can't imagine being stuck without an exit strategy! Btw...how worried should I be if I see some bulls?

krash
GOLIATH GROUPER

Re: New to spearfishing

Post by krash »

You should be more worried about errant boaters
SW, Live to Fish, Have Tackle will travel ... >,)))~> ~~~~

gruntking
LUMBER-JACK

Post by gruntking »

Take that spearo crap somewhere else
fishman joe fb fishmanjoe instagram
YOU CAN CALL ME CAPTAIN

Robb1821i
Fisher

Post by Robb1821i »

Maybe I misunderstood...isn't this forum for spear fishing?

shos260288
KING MACKEREL

Post by shos260288 »

Yes there is a section for this, but no headless pics please! :roll:
Fish Crazy

Robb1821i
Fisher

Post by Robb1821i »

Headless pics? I'd have to spear something successfully 1st right!? :b

Robb1821i
Fisher

Post by Robb1821i »

Lmao! Why animosity toward spear fishers? If you're in Miami and bridge fish the keys you've casted right next to me. And no, I'm white born and raised in Miami Dade county.

And seriously I don't understand the animosity at all...do we scare away fish? I prefer lionfish anyway...just giving you more snapper and grouper!

fishnfool73
AMBASSADOR to the... BF FORUM

Post by fishnfool73 »

Robb1821i wrote:Lmao! Why animosity toward spear fishers? If you're in Miami and bridge fish the keys you've casted right next to me. And no, I'm white born and raised in Miami Dade county.